Page 1 of 1

Writing Barcode...

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:54 pm
by mdelbene
Hi all,
I'm exploring Barcode features and I'd like to write a barcode including the numbers on the bottom of the image.

I create the image with the method oGdPictureImaging.Barcode1DWrite, and I show it in GdViewer area, but I didn't find the way to include also the numbers...
I tried to use all the available Barcode1DWriterType, but nothing, the numbers don't appear. :cry:

Anyone can help me?
Thanks in advance.
Michela

Re: Writing Barcode...

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 4:30 pm
by Loïc
Hi Michela,

The Barcode1DWrite function draws only the barcode shape. If you want to draw its content you have to use the DrawText method subsequently.


Hope this helps.

Loïc

Re: Writing Barcode...

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:00 pm
by mdelbene
Thank you Loïc,
with DrawText method now I can see my numbers! :)

Now I have a GdViewer that contains the barcode.
Next step is to read this barcode from the GdViewer area and read its information contained in it.

I get ideas from SDK samples and I'm trying to use oGdPictureImaging.Barcode1DReaderDoScan method.
The GdPictureStatus is OK, but when I call oGdPictureImaging.Barcode1DReaderGetBarcodeCount no barcode is found.

In your sample the barcode is read from a file, I tried to simulate this behaviour saving first the image in a file and next loading, but the barcode is not recognized.

Have you another suggestion for me?

Thanks a lot.
Michela

Re: Writing Barcode...

Posted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 4:28 pm
by mdelbene
Hi all,
two days ago my company bought the upgrade to new version 8 and now I'm trying to upgrade my application.

I encountered an error while I'm trying to write a Barcode.
This is the code snippet:

Code: Select all

	private void BCButton_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
		{
			GdPictureStatus status = GdPictureStatus.GenericError;

			try
			{
				// Crea una GdPicture Image vuota
				int imageId = gdPicture.CreateNewGdPictureImage(250, 100, PixelFormat.Format24bppRgb, Color.White);

				if (imageId > 0)
				{
					// write barcode in new image
					status = gdPicture.Barcode1DWrite
						(
							imageId,
							Barcode1DWriterType.Barcode1DWriterCode39,
							"TEST-12345",
							0, 
							0, 
							250,
							80, 
							Color.Black,
							BarcodeAlign.BarcodeAlignCenter
						);

					if (status == GdPictureStatus.OK)
					{
						status = gdPicture.Barcode1DReaderDoScan(imageId);
						string bcValue = string.Empty;

						if (status == GdPictureStatus.OK)
						{
							for (int i = 1; i <= gdPicture.Barcode1DReaderGetBarcodeCount(); i++)
								bcValue = gdPicture.Barcode1DReaderGetBarcodeValue(i);

							gdPicture.Barcode1DReaderClear();
						}

						// now I add a text with barcode value
						if (bcValue != null && !string.IsNullOrWhiteSpace(bcValue))
							status = gdPicture.DrawText
								(
								imageId,
								bcValue,
								40,
								80, 
								8, 
								GdPicture.FontStyle.FontStyleRegular,
								Color.Black,
								"Verdana",
								true 
								);

						if (status == GdPictureStatus.OK)
							status = this.GdViewer1.DisplayFromGdPictureImage(imageId);
					}
				}
			}
			catch (Exception ex)
			{
				MessageBox.Show(ex.Message);
				System.Diagnostics.Debug.WriteLine(ex.Message);
			}
		}
So when I use the method Barcode1DWrite, the program throws an exception with this message:
Could not load type 'GdPicture.NET.Barcode.Writer.Barcode' from assembly 'GdPicture.NET.barcode.1d.writer, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=e8bb32f622d7e512'.

I'm using the new dlls of version 8 downloaded from this site and also I've updated my project references.

Anyone can help me?
Thanks in advance.
Michela

Re: Writing Barcode...

Posted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 10:14 pm
by Loïc
Hi Michela,

I think you are still linking the previous version of the 1D barcode writer.

What I can suggest is to ensure yourself to fully uninstall GdPicture.NET 7 from your computer, then install again the V8. I'm pretty sure this should solve your problem.

Kind regards,

Loïc

Re: Writing Barcode...

Posted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:55 am
by mdelbene
Hi Loïc,
you are right.
After uninstall GdPicture v. 7.4 my Barcode appears! :)

Thanks for your support.
Michela